Project Information
After 1907
1901 Snapshot
Air Photo Study
Image Library
Saint Paul University
The following brief history of St. Paul was taken from the 2000 - 2002 University Calendar and used with the kind permission of the University.

"The origin of Saint Paul University dates back to September 26, 1848, when "The
College of By town" was founded by Bishop Joseph-Eugene Guigues, O.M.I., who in
1856 officially entrusted the College to the Oblates of Mary Immaculate.

In 1861 the College of Bytown was renamed "College of Ottawa" and on August 1866,
was granted university status by the Government of the Union of Canada.

By letters of Leo XIII, dated February 5, 1889, the College of Ottawa was granted
the pontifical charter.

To meet the requirements of Pius XI's Apostolic Constitution, Deus Scientiarum Dominus, on the reorganization of Catholic universities, the administration revised its pontifical charter which was subsequently approved by Rome on November 15, 1934. The civil charter, which had been rewritten, was approved on April 18, 1933 by the Ontario Provincial Legislature and he University was henceforth officially known as 'Universite d'Ottawa".

In the years following World War 11, the University progressed rapidly and by 1965, had
established nine faculties and four schools.

The year 1965 marked the end of one era and the beginning of another. On July 1st, through an Act of the Ontario Provincial Legislature and after laborious negotiations between the University and the Provincial Government, the institution heretofore designated as the University of Ottawa became Saint Paul University, nonetheless keeping its civil and canonical charters. At the same time the Provincial Government formed a new institution to be known as the University of Ottawa to which Saint Paul University conceded the majority of its holdings. The two Universities became a federated complex and according to mutual agreement were to share faculties.

In addition to conferring its own degrees, Saint Paul University reserves the right to present its candidates to the Senate of the University of Ottawa for the joint conferment (Saint Paul University - University of Ottawa) of its certificates, diplomas and civil degrees.

Both Universities consider themselves complementary institutions. Saint Paul University appoints eight members to the Board of Governors of the University of Ottawa. The Rector of Saint Paul University is a member of the Senate of the University of Ottawa, and the Faculties of Saint Paul University are also represented in the academic Senate of the University of Ottawa by their Dean, Secretary and a professor elected by his or her colleagues. Moreover, the two Universities benefit from a mutual exchange of professors and they mutually recognize their courses.

The North Pavilion of the University houses the central administration, the Faculty
of Theology, the Faculty of Canon Law, the Faculty of Human Sciences and the Research Services of Saint Paul University. It also includes a library and a mediatheque,
two auditoriums, lecture, workshop and seminar rooms, offices for professors and
administrators and lounges for students, professors and support staff.

The Centre for Ministry Formation (including the University Seminary) and Novalis,
formerly the Catholic Centre, are an integral part of Saint Paul University, the first
one offering integral formation to candidates for lay and ordained ministries and
the latter, located in the South pavilion, being a Christian educational organization.

The University publishes, among others, the following periodicals: Theoforum (Faculty
of Theology), Studia canonica (Faculty of Canon Law). Mission (Institute of Mission
Studies and Interreligious Dialogue), Living with Christ Prions en Eglise, En El Nombre
Del Padre, Celebratel, Rassembler (Novalis). Grail (with the University of St. Jerome's
College), Pastoral Sciences - Sciences pastorales (Institute of Pastoral Studies). Logos (Sheptytsky Institute).

Saint Paul University with strong traditions is fully aware of its special mission and
possibilities. Its geographical location, its bilingual character, its federation with the
University of Ottawa, its competent and diversified teaching staff, contribute to the
quality of the academic training and the Christian culture which it endeavours to

Editor's Note: the above material was reproduced using Optical Character Recognition software (OCR). Any mistakes that have accrued as the result are the responsibility of the editor.
Return to the Scholasticate Main Page
Return to the Schools Page